Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers
Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers (PPECCs) allow minors from birth through age 20 with medically complex conditions to receive daily medical care in a non-residential setting. When prescribed by the minor's physician, minors can attend a Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center up to a maximum of 12 hours per day to receive medical, nursing, psychosocial, therapeutic and developmental services appropriate to the minor's medical condition and developmental status.
The Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS) will begin licensing and regulating Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers on Jan. 1, 2015.
Senate Bill 492
Senate Bill 492, 83rd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2013, authorized DADS to begin licensing Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers.
Check back for new developments regarding stakeholder engagements, public notices, forms and instructions on how to become a provider.
Information about Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers
Proposed Title 40, Part 1, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 15, Licensing Standards for Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers
The proposed Title 40, Part 1, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 15, (relating to Licensing Standards for Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers) has been published in the April 4, 2014 issue of the Texas Register and is available for public comment from April 4, 2014 through May 4, 2014.
The proposal establishes licensing procedures and requirements, provides definitions for the program, establishes minimum standards designed to protect the health and safety of individuals served by a center, and establishes procedures for enforcement actions that DADS may take against a center.
Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Services-13R23, Department of Aging and Disability Services W-615, P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, or street address 701 West 51st St., Austin, Texas 78751; faxed to (512) 438-5759; or emailed to email@example.com. To be considered, comments must be submitted no later than 30 days after the date of the April 4, 2014 issue of the Texas Register.
The last day to submit comments falls on a Sunday; therefore, comments must be: (1) postmarked or shipped before the last day of the comment period; (2) hand-delivered to DADS before 5:00 p.m. on DADS last working day of the comment period; or (3) faxed or emailed by midnight on the last day of the comment period. When faxing or emailing comments, please indicate "Comments on Proposed Rule 13R23" in the subject line.
The proposal is available for viewing on the Texas Register website at: http://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/archive/April42014/Proposed%20Rules/40.SOCIAL%20SERVICES%20AND%20ASSISTANCE.html#27
News & Alerts
- DADS Guide to Employment for People with Disabilities Now Available (July 3, 2014)
- Information Letters from MAXIMUS Regarding STAR+PLUS Expansion (May 19, 2014)
- Mindful Planning to Promote Strong Integrated Employment Outcomes (May 14, 2014)
- Title 40, Part 1, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 15, (relating to Licensing Standards for Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers), available for public comment through the Texas Register (April 4, 2014)
- Recent Change to TINS Will Not Affect HHS Payments (March 31, 2014)
- Previous alerts
- For program information, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
- For policy or rules information, please call 512-438-3161
Information on how to become a PPECC provider coming 2014.
Subscribe to Email Updates
Updated: July 10, 2014