On Sept. 1, 2015, providers must begin paying employed or contracted personal attendants who work in the following programs at least $8 an hour, up from the current $7.86 per hour minimum.
Newly employed or contracting attendants hired on or after Sept.1, 2015, must be notified of the required base wage level within 3 days of being hired.
Title 40 Texas Administrative Code §§49.312 requires that people working as personal attendants in the services/programs listed above, whether as employees or contractors of a provider or as employees or contractors of subcontractors, be paid at or above a specified minimum hourly base wage. The requirement to pay providers of CFC PAS/HAB, effective Sept.1, 2015, will be addressed in a future rule project.
Questions can be directed to Frank Plummer at 512-438-2188 or firstname.lastname@example.org.(8/27/2015)
DADS providers that have any unbilled miscellaneous fee-for-services (FFS) claims from fiscal year 2013 (Sept. 1, 2012, to Aug. 31, 2013) must submit them by Noon, Aug. 11, 2015.
Miscellaneous FFS claims occur when the service dates are earlier than two prior fiscal years plus the current fiscal year.
The Texas OIG List of Excluded Individuals and Entities (LEIE) website is unavailable until June 22, 2015. DADS providers are required to continue to check the Federal OIG LEIE and attempt to access the State OIG LEIE. The State OIG LEIE screen will return a message, “This site is currently Unavailable, please check back later.” Providers should print this screen, keep it on file, and be sure to check the website again on Monday, June 22, 2015. If the search identifies an excluded individual or entity, please report to HHSC-OIG the identity of the excluded individual or entity and any amount paid to that individual or entity, by accessing the HHSC-OIG self-reporting protocol, Section III. (Unavailable until June 22, 2015).(6/19/2015)
DADS has published a new website that provides information about the upcoming ICD-10 transition. This website provides:
The ICD Conversion Code Lookup for Related Conditions is a tool that providers can use to help them identify Related Conditions codes that directly convert from ICD- 9 to 10.
DADS encourages providers to visit the website to learn more about the ICD-10 transition, which is scheduled for Oct. 1, 2015, and to keep up to date with information. Providers also can sign up for ICD-10 email updates.
For questions regarding this alert or general ICD-10 inquiries, please email ICD10@dads.state.tx.us.(6/4/2015)
Beginning June 1, 2015, DADS will begin accepting applications from entities requesting an award of CMP funds to fund projects and activities that benefit nursing facility residents.
Federal law (sections 1819 and 1919 of the Social Security Act) allows this use of funds obtained from CMPs imposed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
If you have any questions about this process or alert, please call (512) 438-2626 or send questions to CmpApplication@dads.state.tx.us.(6/2/2015)
DADS plans to propose rules concerning personal attendant base wages. The rules apply to certain community services contractors, consumer directed services employers and financial management service agencies.
The proposed rules have a planned effective date of Sept. 1, 2015. Pending legislative approval of appropriations, the proposal will be presented to the Medical Care Advisory Committee on June 9, 2015, and the Texas Aging and Disability Services Council on June 11, 2015. The proposed rules are scheduled to be published in the Texas Register on June 26, 2015. Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted in accordance with the instructions in the notice of proposed rules.
The proposed rules will implement the 2016-17 General Appropriations Act (Article II, Special Provisions, House Bill 1, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015), by requiring certain community services contractors and FMSAs to pay a minimum base wage to an employee or subcontractor of a contractor or an employee of a CDS employer providing certain attendant services. Specifically, the proposed rules will change the base wage certain contractors and FMSAs must pay a personal attendant from $7.86/hour to $8/hour. The proposed rules also will change the base wage an employer or designated representative must budget to pay an employee providing certain services through the CDS option from $7.86/hour to $8/hour.
The proposed increase in the base wage for a personal attendant will apply to:
Questions can be emailed to email@example.com.(5/26/2015)
Do you provide services to, care for or have a relationship with someone who has dementia? Then register now for the free “Texas Taking the Next Step: Dementia in Long-term Care and Community Settings” conference in Austin on Aug. 20 at the Palmer Events Center. The first 600 registrants will receive a free copy of the book “Untangling Alzheimer’s” by Tom Cummings.
The event is sponsored by the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services and Texas State University.
Participants will be able to:
Continuing education will be available; details will be available soon.
Questions about the event can be emailed to Claudia.Leal@dads.state.tx.us.(5/5/2015)
DADS stakeholders that apply for a contract with the agency or that respond to a request for proposal after April 6, 2015, will need to complete a Data Usage Agreement if the resulting contract would provide the contractor access to confidential information.
Beginning May 1, 2015, the agency also will require a completed Information Security and Privacy Initial Inquiry if the contract will require access to confidential information.
This process is being implemented in all Texas health and human services agencies to establish a clear and consistent process for safeguarding confidential information and for reporting and correcting any unauthorized use or disclosure of the confidential information.
Providers can review the documents at: http://www.hhsc.state.tx.us/about_hhsc/BusOpp/BO_home.shtml.
Email questions pertaining to DADS active contracts to Kathie.firstname.lastname@example.org.
Email questions about this policy to Sylvia.email@example.com.(4/6/2015)
The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) has appealed the ruling in the lawsuit brought by associations of home care companies challenging the Home Care Final Rule (PDF). (See DADS alert titled “Recent Court Decision Regarding Amended United States Department of Labor Regulations.”)
The DOL stated its enforcement schedule, announced Oct. 9, 2014, would not change. The appeal is proceeding on an expedited schedule and a decision could be made as early as this summer.
The changes that are being appealed effect the companionship services exemption in the Fair Labor Standards Act that may pertain to these DADS programs:
If the Court of Appeals issues a decision favorable to the DOL on or after July 1, 2015, the DOL stated it immediately will implement the selective enforcement process as outlined in the enforcement schedule. Providers and CDS employers should continue to assess the budgetary, staffing and administrative impact of the Home Care Final Rule, if any, and be prepared to alter the budgets or hire additional staff to meet compliance should the DOL win its appeal.
For more information, visit the DOL homecare website, call the DOL at 1-866-487-9243 or consult your legal counsel.(4/2/2015)
The CMPAS Copayment Schedule has been updated to reflect an increase in the Social Security income limit, effective Jan.1, 2015. CMPAS providers must implement individuals’ new copay amounts, if applicable, as soon as possible.
Questions can be emailed to CMPAS@dads.state.tx.us.(2/10/2015)
Records 1 to 10 of 120