How to Become an ADC/DAHS Provider

The Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS) licenses and surveys facilities to ensure compliance with state and federal laws and regulations to protect Texans who are receiving long-term care services.

Contracting to Provide Services

To be eligible to provide services and receive reimbursement for these services, a provider agency must meet certain eligibility criteria. Rules regarding minimum eligibility requirements for contracting can be found in Title 40 of the Texas Administrative Code as follows:

For more information about DADS provider enrollment process and requirements, please click here.

An individual or provider agency must complete an application to provide services in the Community Services programs. Once you have met the minimum eligibility criteria, you may review the required application documents by clicking on the link below.

The forms may be downloaded for completion. Completed forms and any additional required information should be mailed to:

Regular mail
Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services
Community Services Contracts Unit
Mail Code W-357
P.O. Box 149030
Austin, TX 78714-9030

Overnight/Express delivery
Department of Aging and Disability Services
Community Services Contracts Unit
Mail Code W-357
701 West 51st St.
Austin, TX 78751

Should you have any questions regarding the enrollment process for these programs, contact the Community Services Contracts Unit at 512-438-3550. Please be advised that contract applications must be submitted by mail to the address above and may not be submitted electronically or by facsimile.

top of page

Licensing

ADC and DAHS facilities must be licensed to operate in Texas. To become licensed, a facility must:

  • properly complete a license application;
  • pay the required licensure fee; and
  • pass a health and Life Safety Code inspection.

In addition, background checks are conducted on the individuals and corporations responsible for client health and safety to ensure that they have a good history of operating long-term care facilities.

For a facility to retain its license, the results of any inspection, survey, follow-up visit or complaint/incident investigation must show the facility to be in substantial compliance with the current state licensure laws and rules.

Licensing Forms and Procedures

Applications and required fees should be sent to:

Regular Mail
Accounts Receivable
Mail Code E-411
Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services
P.O. Box 149030
Austin, Texas 78714-9030

Overnight delivery
Accounts Receivable
Mail Code E-411
Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services
701 West 51st St.
Austin, Texas 78751
Phone: 512-438-2630

Required Documents

Note: Facilities should use Form 3720, Application for State License to Operate a Long-term Care Facility, to:

Apply for a License

  • Initial
  • Change of ownership
  • Relocation of a facility
Report Changes and Updates

  • Management company
  • Replacement of facility
  • Change of real estate owner, lien holder or other encumbrance changes
  • Changes of ownership interests or stock transfers of 5 percent to 49 percent
  • Health Authority Letter
  • Property Documents (lease, sublease, mortgage, lien information) (one copy of each)
  • Certificate of Account Status or Certification of Exemption and a Certificate of Incorporation, if the application is submitted by a corporation or partnership.
  • Certificate of Registration (if not formed in Texas, authority to transact business in Texas, formerly called Certificate of Authority)

top of page

Required Entity Documents

Time Frames

Requirements

top of page

Medicaid Provider Enrollment

All providers performing medical services who wish to be eligible for reimbursement for Title XIX (Medicaid) benefits must complete the required Medicaid Provider Enrollment Application forms and, if applicable, enter into a written provider agreement. For information on how to become a Medicaid provider, please visit the Texas Health and Human Services Commission website.

top of page

Inspections and Investigations of Complaints and Incidents

DADS inspects adult day care facilities annually to ensure that they are in compliance with state licensure regulations. DADS also investigates self-reported incidents from facilities and complaints from clients, family members, friends and others. Inspectors initiate investigation of complaints and incidents in facilities within 24 hours, 14 days, 30 days or 45 days, depending on the priority assigned by the intake program specialist who receives the complaint or incident report. The priority is based on the immediacy and seriousness of the allegation.

DADS conducts on-site investigations for all complaints received. If DADS determines that the facility has investigated a self-reported incident, has determined the cause and has made the necessary changes to remove the problem, DADS may elect not to conduct an on-site investigation. If inspectors find a violation during a visit, they make a follow-up visit to ensure that the facility has corrected the violation and is in compliance with the regulations. DADS does not notify facilities prior to conducting inspections or investigations. For information on how to report a complaint, please visit the DADS Consumer Rights and Services website.

DADS has available inspectors from a number of professional disciplines, including registered nurses, social workers, nutritionists, pharmacists, architects, engineers and Life Safety Code specialists. The facility is inspected annually. DADS assigns one or more inspectors from specific areas of expertise to investigate complaints and incidents based on the nature of the complaint or incident and facility size.

Inspection Reports

When the inspection team completes the inspection, investigation, follow-up or other visit, it writes a report of the findings that details the facility’s failures to comply with regulations, which are called violations. The facility must make inspection reports available to all facility clients and visitors. Interested parties may also request inspection team visit results from Consumer Rights and Services at 1-800-458-9858.

Enforcement Actions

Once the inspection team completes the report, DADS staff review the findings to determine if an enforcement action is necessary. An array of enforcement actions are available under state licensing laws, including actions against a facility’s license and facility closure.

State regulations give facilities the right to request an informal dispute resolution of the cited violations and to appeal enforcement actions.

top of page

Updated: August 28, 2014