Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Texas Works Handbook
Effective: April 1, 2013
Part B — Section 400
B—410 Students in Higher Education
B—411 General Policy
A student in higher education is one who is enrolled at least half-time (as defined by the institution) in a college or university curriculum that offers degree programs, regardless of whether a high school diploma is required for admittance; or at a business, technical, trade or vocational school that normally requires a high school diploma or equivalent for admittance.
Do not apply student higher education policy to people:
- under age 18 (students are 18 the month after the student's 18th birthday);
- age 50 or older (students are 50 the month of the student's 50th birthday);
- enrolled in curricula (such as beauty school or auto mechanics) that do not require a diploma or the equivalent for entrance; or
- enrolled in English as a second language only curriculum.
Enrollment begins the first day of the first school term. For example, a high school senior might be accepted by a college and register for classes before graduation; however, the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) does not consider him enrolled until the first day of the college term.
Once enrolled, HHSC considers the student enrolled through vacation and recess, until he graduates, is expelled, drops out, or does not intend to register for the next usual term, excluding summer school. A student remains enrolled during summer vacations unless he does not intend to return to school in the fall.
B—412 Student Eligibility Requirements
A student qualifies for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) only by meeting any one of these requirements:
- Unfit for employment. If not evident, require proof from a certified doctor or psychologist, or verify receipt of permanent or temporary disability benefits issued by government or private sources.
- Employed for pay an average of 20 hours a week. If self-employed, the student must work an average of 20 hours a week and earn at least the federal minimum hourly wage.
- Participates during the regular school year in a state or federally-funded work study program. He must be actually working at a job for pay or for dollar credits against tuition charges. This does not include students who must work for academic requirements, such as interns and student teachers.
The student exemption begins the month the school term begins or the work study is approved to begin, whichever is later. The student exemption stops:
- if the student quits working (unless it results solely from lack of work study funds), or
- when there is a break between terms of a full calendar month or longer unless the student continues work study during the break.
- Enrolled in school through one of the following programs:
- Workforce Investment Act (WIA) of 1998,
- SNAP employment and training (E&T),
- Trade Adjustment Assistance (a program administered by Texas Workforce Commission), or
- other state and local government training programs approved by state office as equivalent to E&T.
- Participates in an on-the-job training program (classroom study is not considered on-the-job-training for this purpose).
- Approved for Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF).
- Responsible for the care of a dependent child who is a household member and the child is:
- under age six;
- at least six years old but under age 12, and the student states he has no available child care to enable the student to attend class and comply with work requirements in Item B or C above.
Note: If both parents/caretakers are students, both cannot obtain student eligibility by caring for the same child.
- A single parent (natural, adoptive or stepparent in the home or other single adult with parental control) who is
- enrolled full-time (as determined by the school), and
- responsible for the care of a child under age 12.
B—413 Ineligible Students
A student who does not meet the student eligibility requirements is not a member of the household. Do not count the student's income and resources for the remaining household members. If an ineligible student is also disqualified for another reason, treat him as a disqualified member.
B—414 Work Registration
Eligible students are exempt from work registration during the regular school term. This exemption continues through scheduled school vacations for students who remain enrolled.
B—415 Student Resources
Follow policy in A-1200, Resources, to determine resources.
Document the student's eligibility, if questionable.
B—420 Other Special Situations
B—421 Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservation (FDPIR)
FDPIR is a food distribution program that provides commodity foods to low-income households living on an Indian reservation, and to Native American families residing near reservations. The Indian tribe administers this program under approval from the Food and Nutrition Service (FNS). Households who are eligible for the FDPIR receives a monthly food package based on the number of household members. The only tribe approved in Texas is the Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas in Polk County.
Individuals cannot participate simultaneously in SNAP and FDPIR. An Indian Tribal Household eligible for both programs may participate in only one of the programs of their choice. The household may switch from one program to the other. They must stop receiving benefits in the one program before being certified for the other program. Benefits would begin the month after benefits end in the previous program.
B—421.1 Duplicate Participation
HHSC staff must identify any household members who are receiving duplicate benefits with FDPIR and notify FDPIR staff. The household can be denied from either program. If duplicate participation occurs, a household overpayment occurs for the program that was certified for benefits last. HHSC staff must send an overpayment referral to OIG if the overpayment occurred in SNAP.
The Livingston HHSC office receives a list of certified FDPIR households each month.
HHSC staff must:
- perform inquiry to identify any household members receiving benefits in both FDPIR and SNAP;
- notify FDPIR staff about any household member with duplicate participation;
- notify the corresponding HHSC office in another county, if the duplicate participant household moved to that county; and
- deny SNAP, if appropriate, and refer the household to OIG for a SNAP overpayment.
How to File an Overpayment Referral, B-730
B—421.2 Intentional Program Violation (IPV)
Any member disqualified from SNAP for an IPV is also disqualified from participating in the FDPIR program. Likewise, any member disqualified from FDPIR for an IPV is also disqualified from participation in SNAP for the full length of the IPV disqualification period. HHSC staff must follow the policy in B-941, Disqualifying a Household Member with a Current Out-of-State IPV Disqualification.
Procedures for Disqualifying a Household Member with an Out-of-State IPV Disqualification, B-933.4
B—421.3 Switching from FDPIR to SNAP
Staff must follow the same procedures that are used when individuals receiving SNAP benefits in another state move to Texas and apply for SNAP. Staff must contact the Alabama-Coushatta FDPIR staff to verify the household does not receive FDPIR before determining SNAP eligibility for an Indian Tribal Household living in Polk County.
Note: Staff working in TIERS must enter Alabama as the other state in the Out of State Benefit Logical Unit of Work in this situation, and document the facts in TIERS Case Comments.
B—421.4 Switching from SNAP to FDPIR
For tribal members switching from SNAP to FDPIR, staff must:
- process the switch as a verbal request for voluntary withdrawal from SNAP,
- send a notice of adverse action allowing adequate notice,
- terminate SNAP benefits for the household as soon as possible so the household may be certified for FDPIR, and
- notify FDPIR staff of the SNAP denial effective date for the household.
Form TF0001 Required (Adequate Notice), A-2354.1
B—421.5 Verification Requirements
HHSC staff must contact Alabama-Coushatta FDPIR staff to verify the household does not receive FDPIR before determining SNAP eligibility for any Indian Tribal Household living in Polk County.
FDPIR staff must contact the Livingston HHSC office to verify SNAP participation and whether there is any SNAP IPV disqualification before certifying someone for FDPIR.
B—421.6 Documentation Requirements
- name and telephone number of the FDPIR staff who provides verification.
- name of the household member currently disqualified for an IPV in FDPIR.
B—430 Elderly or Disabled Households
B—431 Definition of Elderly
An elderly person is someone who is age 60 or older as of the last day of the month.
B—432 Definition of Disabled
The following people are disabled:
- People approved for SSI, Social Security disability or blindness payments, or SSI Medicaid only.
- Veterans who receive VA benefits because they are rated a 100% service-connected disability or who, according to the VA, need regular aid and attendance or are permanently housebound.
- Surviving spouses of deceased veterans who meet one of the following criteria according to the VA:
- need regular aid and attendance,
- permanently housebound, or
- approved for benefits from the VA because of the veteran's death and could be considered permanently disabled for Social Security purposes. (See B-432.1, Social Security's Criteria for Disability.)
- Surviving children (any age) of a deceased veteran who the VA:
- determines are permanently incapable of self-support, or
- approves for benefits because of the veteran's death and could be considered permanently disabled for Social Security purposes. (See B-432.1.)
- People receiving disability retirement benefits from any government agency for a disability that could be considered permanent for Social Security purposes.
- People receiving Railroad Retirement Disability who are also covered by Medicare.
B—432.1 Social Security's Criteria for Disability
SSA considers that any of the following 12 conditions result in permanent disability:
- Permanent loss of use of both hands, both feet, or one hand and one foot.
- Amputation of leg at hip.
- Amputation of leg or foot because of diabetes mellitus or peripheral vascular diseases.
- Total deafness, not correctable by surgery or hearing aid.
- Statutory blindness, unless caused by cataracts or detached retina.
- IQ 59 or less, established after the person becomes 16 years old.
- Spinal cord or nerve root lesions resulting in paraplegia or quadriplegia.
- Multiple sclerosis in which there is damage to the nervous system caused by scattered areas of inflammation. The inflammation recurs and has progressed to varied interference with the function of the nervous system, including severe muscle weakness, paralysis, and vision and speech defects.
- Muscular dystrophy with irreversible wasting of the muscles, impairing the ability to use the arms or legs.
- Impaired renal function caused by chronic renal disease, resulting in severely reduced function which may require dialysis or kidney transplant.
- Amputation of a limb of a person at least 55 years old.
- AIDS progressed so that it results in extensive and/or recurring physical or mental impairment.
If the individual already receives SSI or Social Security blindness or disability payments, or their disability is obvious to the advisor (such as amputation of leg at hip), do not require additional verification. Other conditions may require the opinion of a physician. Use Form H1836-A, Medical Release/Physician's Statement, in these instances.
B—433 Special Provisions for Elderly or Disabled Households
Households containing an elderly or disabled person receive special treatment. The special provisions are
- Income tests — exempt households with elderly or disabled members from the gross income test.
- Medical deduction — allow a medical deduction for households with an elderly or disabled member who has medical bills that exceed $35 a month.
- Excess shelter — Households with elderly or disabled members receive an excess shelter deduction for the full monthly amount that exceeds 50% of the household's monthly income after the allowable deductions.
B—434 Verification Requirements
Verify that a household member:
- is age 60 or older;
- meets the disability criteria in B-432, Definition of Disabled.
B—435 Documentation Requirements
- the reason the individual is considered disabled (See B-432, Definition of Disabled);
- how age was verified (See B-431, Definition of Elderly);
- how disability was verified (See B-432).
B—440 Drug and Alcohol Treatment (D&A)/Group Living Arrangement (GLA) Facilities
B—441 Residents of Drug and Alcohol Treatment (D&A) Facilities
Persons who are receiving chemical dependency treatment and reside in a facility that conducts a chemical dependency program may participate in the SNAP only if the treatment facility is:
- certified as a retailer by Food and Nutrition Services (FNS) to accept SNAP benefits; or
- a private, nonprofit organization or institution, or a publicly operated community mental health center. To qualify under this provision, the facility or organization must also meet one of the following two requirements:
- be licensed by the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to operate a chemical dependency treatment facility or hold a valid license from the former Texas Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse (TCADA) that remains active; or
- have written verification from DSHS that it is a registered faith-based exempt chemical dependency treatment program under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 464, Subchapter C, and also recognized by DSHS as operating a program that furthers the purposes of Part B of Title XIX of the Public Health Service Act, the rehabilitation of drug addicts and/or alcoholics. The facility does not have to actually receive funds from DSHS.
Residents can participate in the SNAP program only under these special provisions, even if the facility does not provide/prepare meals for them. Include the child(ren) of the resident if they live together at the treatment facility. Residents who are not regular participants in a licensed or exempt chemical dependency treatment program are not eligible. Document this ineligibility.
Note: See A-232.2, Disqualified Persons, for disqualification of individuals due to felony drug conviction.
Evaluate all other eligibility criteria to determine if a resident of the treatment center is eligible for the SNAP program.
Determine eligibility by the same income and resource standards as other households. Most time frames and procedures for certifying households apply to residents of treatment facilities. The exceptions are
- Household size — Certify
- single residents of the treatment facility as separate one-person households.
- adult residents and their children as one household.
- Authorized Representative (AR) — The treatment facility must act as the AR for all residents of the facility.
Any facility that is disqualified by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) as a retailer or loses its license from a state agency cannot serve as an AR. If this happens the advisor must deny all existing cases of residents in the facility and the facility may not debit residents' food accounts after the disqualification occurs.
- Expedited Service — The advisor must provide benefits to the resident so he has an opportunity to participate by the seventh calendar day after the application date. The application date is day zero.
- Adverse Action — When the facility loses its status as AR or loses its certification, give the resident adequate notice of adverse action.
- Work registration — Exempt the resident from work registration.
Note: If a treatment center inquires about obtaining a SNAP retailer license from FNS, refer the center to the USDA FNS.
B—442 Residents of Group Living Arrangement (GLA) Facilities
A group living arrangement is a public or private nonprofit residential facility that serves no more than 16 residents. The facility must be both
- nonprofit, and
- certified by a state agency as required by Section 1616(e) of the Social Security Act.
Residents who meet the criteria in B-432, Definition of Disabled, may be certified under group living arrangements. Determine eligibility by the same income and resource standards as other households.
The residents of group living arrangements may apply
- for themselves,
- through an AR of their choosing, or
- through an AR employed by the facility.
If a member of the group wants to apply on his own, the facility makes the decision to let the resident apply on his own based on his physical and mental ability to handle his affairs. Accept applications from any individual the facility allows to apply as a one-person household or for any group of residents applying as a household.
Most time frames and procedures for certifying households apply to group living arrangements. The exceptions are
- Household Size — If the resident applies using the facility as AR, he is treated as a one-person household. If the residents apply without using the facility as AR, 16 is the largest allowable household size.
- Expedited Service — Provide benefits to the resident so he has an opportunity to participate by the seventh calendar day after the application date. The application date is day zero.
- Adverse Action — When the facility loses its status as AR or loses its certification, give the resident adequate notice of adverse action.
- Work Registration — Members must be registered unless exempt.
B—443 HHSC Responsibilities
B—443.1 Advisor Responsibilities
For residents participating in D&A/GLA facilities,
- verify that the
- D&A facility meets the eligibility criteria in B-441, Residents of Drug and Alcohol Treatment (D&A) Facilities.
- GLA meets the eligibility criteria in B-442, Residents of Group Living Arrangement (GLA) Facilities.
Verify certification by contract documents or certificates of eligibility from the USDA, HHSC, Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS), Texas Department of State Health Services or Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services. Verify nonprofit status by a current, valid Internal Revenue Service exemption or a document from the Texas State Comptroller of Public Accounts. If the facility is a USDA-certified retailer, the facility's eligibility is verified.
- ensure the AR has a copy of Form H1851, Reference Guide for Drug and Alcoholic Treatment (D&A)/Group Living Arrangement (GLA) Facilities. Have the AR acknowledge receipt of Form H1851 by signing Form H1846, Facility Authorized Representative Interview. Ensure the AR understands each of the facility's responsibilities.
- ensure the AR has a supply of Form H1852, List of Resident Participants in the Food Stamp Benefits Program. The AR must return this form by the fifth of every month or the following workday if the fifth is not a workday. Repeated failure to return this form is a program violation. Use Form H1852 to help monitor the facility's compliance with its responsibilities as AR. Complete and send Form H1847, Reminder to Submit Form H1852, when the facility report is three days past due.
- ensure the AR has a supply of Form H1019, Report of Change, and postage-paid envelopes for the local eligibility determination office.
- make on-site visits to the facility at least once every six months.
During these visits, use Form H1845, Drug and Alcohol Treatment (D&A)/Group Living Arrangement (GLA) Facility Review, to document
- the date of the visit,
- the number of residents, and
- proof the facility continues to meet eligibility requirements.
- report suspected misuse of the SNAP by the facility to the supervisor or program manager. Use Form H1845 or Form H1853, Documentation of Findings for Form H1852, if staff discover the suspected misuse during the monthly evaluation of Form H1852 that the facility returned.
- ensure the facility returns the correct amount of benefits to the individual's Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) card. If the facility is unable or unwilling to return the individual's benefits, send Form H1096, Notification Letter, to the facility advising them of the overpayment, email Form H1095, Treatment Facility Fraud Referral, to the OIG General Investigations Policy and Quality Control Unit: email@example.com; and immediately restore improperly accessed benefits to the individual.
Note: If a Centralized Benefits Services (CBS) household moves into a D&A/GLA facility, CBS staff transfer the case back to the local office.
Maintain a D&A/GLA facility case file in the local office for each facility. Keep copies of any forms, reports, or supporting documentation in this file.
B—443.1.1 Monitoring Facilities
Advisors must monitor information provided each month by facilities on Form H1852, List of Resident Participants in the Food Stamp Benefits Program, to ensure that certified residents receive the correct amount of SNAP benefits.
Facilities must return Form H1852 to the office by the fifth of every month or the next workday if the fifth is not a workday. If the facility fails to provide the report, prompt the facility using Form H1847, Reminder to Submit Form H1852, when the report is three days past due.
Advisors must compare the information on the current month's Form H1852 to the information on the previous month's Form H1852 and clear any discrepancies. Consider the following questions in detail:
- Are the same residents certified?
- Did any of the residents move out during the month? If so, did the
- facility report the change and return the Lone Star card and PIN in the correct sleeve within three days, and
- Lone Star account contain the correct amount of benefits?
If the facility fails to report residents who move out and/or fails to return the Lone Star card and PIN, the advisor must take action to deny the cases following procedures in B-447, Resident Moves Out of a D&A/GLA Facility. Remind facilities it is their responsibility as an AR to report moves and return the Lone Star card and PIN within three days of the change. Complete Form H1853, Documentation of Findings for Form H1852, monthly to document findings. If no findings, document no findings. Provide a copy of negative findings to the program manager responsible for the case record and file a copy in the facility case file.
B—443.2 Program Manager Responsibilities
Report misuse of SNAP benefits in facilities certified as retailers by the USDA by sending Form H1853, Documentation of Findings for Form H1852 to:
Texas Works Program and Policy
P.O. Box 12668
Austin, TX 78711-2668
Program managers may also fax the report to 512-206-5141, Attention: Facilities.
State office makes referrals to the OIG and EBT. The USDA, if necessary, sends a copy to the program manager and subsequently, notification of any action taken.
Do not take any further adverse action on a facility certified by USDA before USDA's action. Compute overissuances for the individual residents as appropriate.
Report misuse in facilities certified as retailers to OIG and to state office Texas Works Program and Policy, using Form H1853. If the investigative unit confirms the report is valid, the investigative unit program manager refers the case to the USDA for their information and consideration for prosecution. The investigative unit sends a copy of the referral to the SNAP program manager responsible for the record and notifies him of any action taken by USDA.
B—444 Overview of EBT Processes for Residents of D&A/GLA Facilities
Establish the AR as the primary cardholder (PCH) and issue a Lone Star Card to access a resident's benefits in the food account. Allow the AR to select a PIN through the Lone Star help desk Automated Voice Response (AVR) unit or receive a pre-assigned PIN.
Some D&A/GLA facilities are certified by the USDA as SNAP retailers and some are not. Either way, the facility serves as AR and is responsible for the use of SNAP benefits of all residents who participate in the SNAP (except for some GLAs). Benefits issued via EBT for residents of these D&A/GLA facilities are handled according to one of the following three methods (1A, 1B, or 2):
- An EBT vendor contracts with D&A/GLA facilities certified by USDA as SNAP retailers to process EBT transactions in two ways:
- If the D&A/GLA facility processes a minimum monthly value of SNAP transactions, an EBT vendor installs Point of Sale (POS) equipment there. The facility, as AR/PCH, debits the residents' SNAP benefits by swiping each resident's Lone Star card through their POS equipment and entering the associated PIN. An EBT vendor completes financial settlement to pay the retailer the day after SNAP transactions are completed.
- If the retailer processes less than the minimum monthly value of SNAP transactions to receive POS equipment, an EBT vendor contracts with the retailer to use a manual voucher system to process EBT SNAP transactions from each resident's account. An EBT vendor completes financial settlement to pay the retailer the day after SNAP transactions are completed.
- D&A/GLA facilities that are not USDA-certified retailers do not contract with an EBT vendor to accept SNAP benefits. However, as long as the facility meets the eligibility criteria specified in B-441, Residents of Drug and Alcohol Treatment (D&A) Facilities, or B-442, Residents of Group Living Arrangement (GLA) Facilities, for non-USDA certified retailers, residents of those facilities can still participate in the SNAP program with the facility AR responsible for the residents' SNAP benefits. In this situation, establish the facility AR as the PCH. Issue a Lone Star Card and allow the AR to select a PIN through the Lone Star help desk AVR unit or receive a pre-assigned PIN. The facility AR may use the food account Lone Star Card and PIN to purchase food for the resident at a retail food store/market.
Note: GLAs do not always serve as AR for each resident. If the GLA employee is not listed as a GLA-AR on a resident's SNAP case,
- follow normal EBT issuance procedures rather than procedures in this section for issuing cards and self-selecting/issuing PINs;
- the resident may use his own card/PIN to purchase food from a regular retailer, or purchase prepared meals from the GLA if the GLA is certified as a retailer by USDA.
B—445 D&A/GLA Facility Responsibilities as Authorized Representatives
The facility acting as AR must
- apply for and provide accurate information on behalf of a resident;
- use the Lone Star card to debit the resident's food account;
- buy and prepare food for eligible residents;
- buy meals delivered to the individual residents;
- report within ten days to the SNAP office loss of USDA/TCADA certification or loss of non-profit status;
- report any changes, losses, misuse, and overissuances of SNAP benefits;
- give departing residents a Form H1019, Report of Change, and advise the individual to report his new address to the SNAP office within 10 days;
- report and return to HHSC the Lone Star card (in the proper sleeve) issued for that resident within three days after the resident moves out, whether announced or not;
- ensure security of all Lone Star cards and personal identification numbers (PINs) issued to the facility AR;
- ensure that the departing resident's Lone Star Card contains all the SNAP benefits that are unspent when the resident moves out; and
- return Form H1852, List of Resident Participants in the Food Stamp Benefits Program, to the local eligibility determination office by the fifth of every month or the following workday if the fifth is not a workday.
The resident and AR both must sign the application form.
The facility, acting as an AR, is liable if it knowingly commits a program violation to obtain SNAP benefits for a resident.
B-445.1, Use of SNAP Benefits by D&A Treatment/GLA Facilities which Serve as SNAP AR, explains facility responsibilities specific to EBT.
The facility must maintain a sufficient supply of required forms. Form H1852, Form H1019, Report of Change, and local HHSC return envelopes may be obtained from the local eligibility determination office and will be offered to the AR at each certification.
B—445.1 Use of SNAP Benefits by D&A Treatment/GLA Facilities which Serve as SNAP AR
HHSC restricts how the D&A/GLA facility may use the resident's benefits as explained in B-445.1.1 through B-445.1.4. The advisor must inform the facility AR of these rules during the interview and provide them via Form H1851, Reference Guide for Drug and Alcohol Treatment (D&A)/Group Living Arrangement (GLA) Facilities.
B—445.1.1 Account Access
HHSC issues a Lone Star Card to the facility AR and enables the AR to select a PIN through the Lone Star help desk AVR unit. HHSC allows the AR access only to benefits issued for a month the individual is a facility resident. The facility may have one person serve as AR to apply for the resident and another to serve as AR/PCH and use the Lone Star card.
Note: When the D&A/GLA facility is the AR, it is responsible for all benefits in an account. Therefore, security of the card and PIN is as important to them as it is to a regular individual.
A D&A/GLA facility AR may access benefits issued to a resident's food account only in the following situation. If HHSC is unable to issue benefits with the facility as AR for a month the resident is residing in the facility because that month's benefits were already issued to the resident's food account and the resident wants to allow the facility access to those previously issued benefits, the resident, not the facility AR, has the following options:
For facilities that are not USDA-certified retailers, the resident may
- use his card to purchase groceries to give to the facility OR
- make the D&A/GLA facility AR a secondary cardholder on his existing account to access those benefits.
To establish the facility AR as secondary cardholder in this situation, the
- advisor must ensure that the individual made this choice and then approve it; and
- local office EBT clerk must establish the secondary cardholder, issue the card, and enable PIN self-selection.
For facilities that are USDA-certified retailers, the resident can
- use one of the options listed above for facilities that are not USDA-certified, or
- use his Lone Star card and PIN to purchase meals via the facility POS device or via the EBT manual voucher process. The facility is not allowed possession of the card previously issued to the resident, nor knowledge of the resident's PIN. When using this option, the facility may only charge for prepared meals on a per day basis (not in advance).
B—445.1.2 Returning Lone Star Cards
The D&A/GLA facility must return the facility AR's card to the advisor in person for each resident who moves out within three days of the move.
B—445.1.3 Returning Unspent Benefits When A Resident Moves Out
When a resident moves out of the D&A/GLA facility, the facility must return all unspent benefits issued to the AR's account regardless of when the resident moves out, even if it means returning all of the resident's benefits. D&A/GLA facilities are not allowed to spend a resident's benefits after he moves out.
To return unspent benefits after a resident moves out, the facility returns the AR's card and ensures the account contains all unspent benefits. For purposes of this policy, "spent" means the facility used the Lone Star card to access the resident's benefits before the resident moved out.
If the facility accesses benefits it is not allowed to use, the facility must return them to the account. USDA certified facilities can return benefits using the POS device to process a return on the account or via communication with an EBT vendor. Facilities not certified as retailers by USDA must return groceries to the store and get the store to process a return on the resident's account using the AR's card on the store's POS device.
If the retailer is unable to restore benefits to the EBT card, the advisor initiates a claim against the facility by sending Form H1096, Notification Letter, and sending Form H1095, Treatment Facility Fraud Referral, to the OIG General Investigations Policy and Quality Control Unit Outlook Mailbox. The advisor restores benefits to the individual as outlined in B-800, Restored Benefits.
B—445.1.4 Residents Moving Out Before the 16th of a Month
The D&A/GLA facility must return at least 1/2 of the monthly allotment for residents who move out before the 16th of a month. Therefore, even though the facility can access more than 1/2 of the monthly allotment before the 16th, it is not good practice to do so.
The D&A/GLA facility AR knows the full allotment amount from the individual notice. If the case has recoupment, the advisor must notify the facility AR so the AR can use the Lone Star help desk AVR system (800-777-7EBT) to verify monthly benefits.
When using a resident's benefits, D&A/GLA facilities without a POS device must be cautious to ensure they do not use more than half of a month's allotment before the 16th of the month, because they have no POS device to process a return if they spend more than half of a resident's allotment.
B—446 Application Processing for D&A/GLA Facilities
Advisors must process SNAP cases for residents in D&A/GLA facilities using one of the following three procedures, depending on the resident's situation at application.
B—446.1 New Resident (or Denied Resident with No Benefits in an EBT Account) Who Moves into D&A/GLA Facility and Applies for SNAP
- The advisor:
- interviews the AR.
- advises the AR about the limitations noted on Form H1851, Reference Guide for Drug and Alcohol Treatment (D&A)/Group Living Arrangement (GLA) Facilities.
- provides EBT training material if the AR has not already received it.
- sends the PCH record for the facility AR to the EBT system by indicating in the TIERS issuance pages that there is an alternate payee and by filling out Part I of Form H1175, Authorization for Administrative Terminal Application Action, which is sent to EBT staff to data enter into the Administrative Terminal Application (ATA).
Note: Because the PCH must use biographical data to access PIN selection through the Lone Star help desk AVR system, the EBT clerk must enter additional data to the PCH record using the Form 1175/ATA process. TIERS does not collect this data on D&A/GLA facility ARs; therefore, TIERS cannot send the information to the EBT system.
At the time of disposition, advisors must ensure that TIERS has successfully included the PCH record for the facility AR by reviewing the Issuance – Details page and the Alternate Payee – Summary page.
- disposes the SNAP EDG.
- completes and submits Form H1172, EBT Card, PIN and Data Entry Request, to the EBT clerk.
- The EBT clerk:
- securely files the signed, original EBT forms,
- issues a card to the AR and reports the personal account number (PAN),
- prints the case name in the space under the signature field on the back of the Lone Star Card, and
- enables the AR to select a PIN through the Lone Star help desk AVR system.
- The facility AR uses the card and PIN to access benefits in the food account. Note: If the resident also receives TANF, the cash account is not available to the D&A/GLA facility AR. The resident has a separate card and PIN for his cash account.
B—446.2 Resident Has an Active SNAP EDG (or a Denied-Ongoing SNAP EDG), No Benefits in the Food Account, and All SNAP Household Members Move into the D&A/GLA Facility
Follow policy in B-446.1, New Resident (or Denied Resident with No Benefits in an EBT Account) Who Moves into D&A/GLA Facility and Applies for SNAP, except add the D&A/GLA facility representative as AR for the existing SNAP EDG and certify the SNAP EDG if it is currently denied.
B—446.3 All Other Situations
Assign the resident a new SNAP EDG number. Certify the resident using the new EDG number to establish a separate EBT food account as a resident of a D&A/GLA facility with a facility AR.
- If the resident is on an active SNAP EDG (and all members are not moving into the facility), remove the individual from the existing EDG before certifying on a new case. Process this resident's application using procedures in B-446.1, New Resident (or Denied Resident with No Benefits in an EBT Account) Who Moves into D&A/GLA Facility and Applies for SNAP.
- If the resident is currently certified as a single person household on a previous case (but has a remaining benefit balance), certify the resident for SNAP with a certification period for the remaining months using a different case number. Do not require a new Form H1010, Texas Works Application for Assistance — Your Texas Benefits. The file date is the first day of the first month of the remaining certification period. Cross reference the other case in the Case Comments section of each case.
Enter the facility AR’s information in the Authorized Representative page and indicate in the Issuance – Details page that there is an alternate payee. Complete the subsequent Alternate Payee – Summary page.
Complete and submit Form H1172, EBT Card, PIN and Data Entry Request, and Form H1175, Authorization for Administrative Terminal Application Action, Part I, to the EBT clerk. The EBT clerk enters additional data to the PCH record for the AR through the ATA for the new EDG number. Note: Because the PCH must use biographical data to access PIN selection through the Lone Star help desk AVR system, the EBT clerk must send the PCH record using the Form H1175/ATA process. TIERS does not collect this data on D&A/GLA facility ARs; therefore, TIERS cannot send the information to the EBT system.
At the time of disposition, advisors must ensure TIERS has successfully included the PCH record for the facility AR by reviewing the Issuance – Details page and the Alternate Payee – Summary page.
Then follow policy in B-446.1, No. 2 and No. 3.
B—447 Resident Moves Out of a D&A/GLA Facility
Follow these procedures when the resident moves out of the facility.
- The facility AR:
- notifies the advisor of the move, and
- returns the Lone Star Card (in person) for this account to the local office within three days of the move.
- The advisor checks the account balance to ensure the D&A/GLA facility returned the correct amount of benefits. The advisor must ensure the facility returns to the resident's food account any amount of benefits spent after the resident moved out. Monthly benefits and account balance information are available on the ATA benefit history screen. The ATA transaction history screens provide information to verify the AR did not debit the account after the resident moved out. Transactions are listed by date and time.
Report violations as noted in B-443.1, Advisor Responsibilities.
- After ensuring benefits are properly returned, staff destroy the card according to procedures for returned cards in B-237, Returned Lone Star Cards and PIN Packets.
- The advisor follows procedure I or II below.
- The facility reports the move and the former resident has not contacted HHSC:
- Send the case name to the EBT system as the new PCH. If necessary, complete a Form H1175, Part I, and send to EBT staff, who will use the information to create the new PCH record through the ATA.
- Immediately remove the AR entries in TIERS including any designations in the Issuance – Details and the Alternate Payee – Summary pages and update the address, if known.
- Document in Case Comments the name of the facility and facility AR that are being removed and when. Do not issue a new card and PIN until the former resident requests it.
- Follow normal adverse action procedures to deny the case.
Note: If the advisor fails to remove the AR before denying the case, establish a new PCH by updating the PCH record using Form H1175, Authorization for Administrative Terminal Application Action, Part III.
- Former resident reports the move:
- If the former resident moves to another D&A/GLA facility:
- do not deny the existing active case.
- remove the former facility AR.
- document in Case Comments the name of the facility and facility AR that are being removed and the name of the new facility and facility AR that are being added and when.
- enter the new facility AR’s information in the Authorized Representative page and indicate in the Issuance – Details page that there is an alternate payee. Complete the subsequent Alternate Payee – Summary page.
- complete Form H1172 to issue a card and enable the new AR to select a PIN through the Lone Star help desk AVR system.
- complete Form H1175, Part I, and send to EBT staff, who will use the information to complete the new PCH record on the new AR via the ATA.
Note: Because the PCH must use biographical data to access PIN selection through the Lone Star help desk AVR system, the EBT clerk must enter additional data to the PCH record using the Form H1175/ATA process. TIERS does not collect this data on D&A/GLA facility ARs; therefore, TIERS cannot send the information to the EBT system.
At the time of disposition, advisors must ensure that TIERS has successfully included the PCH record for the new facility AR by reviewing the Issuance – Details page and the Alternate Payee – Summary page.
- The EBT clerk securely files the signed, original EBT forms; issues a card to the AR; reports the PAN; prints the case name in the space under the signature field on the back of the Lone Star Card; and enables the AR to select a PIN through the Lone Star help desk AVR system.
- If the former resident moves in with another active SNAP household and the former resident will participate with that household:
- send a Form TF-0001, Notice of Case Action, to deny the active D&A/GLA-related case following regular adverse action procedures.
- send the case name to the EBT system to change the PCH on the case by removing all AR-related entries in TIERS including any designations in the Issuance – Details and the Alternate Payee – Summary pages.
- change the address to the resident's new address.
- document in Case Comments the name of the facility and facility AR that are being removed and when. Cross reference the other case in the Case Comments section of each case.
- if there are still benefits in the account, process Form H1172 to give the former resident access to the account by issuing a card and enabling the individual to select a PIN through the Lone Star help desk AVR system.
- if necessary, complete a Form H1175, Part I, and send to EBT staff, who will use the information to create the new PCH record through the ATA.
- deny the active (D&A/GLA) case.
- add the former resident to the other household's SNAP EDG effective for the month after any final benefits are received.
- If the former resident moves and no longer lives in a D&A/GLA facility or does not participate with another active SNAP household, use the following special procedure to move the former resident's remaining months of SNAP certification to a different case (and thus a new food account):
- send the case name to the EBT system to change the new PCH on the currently active case by removing all AR-related entries in TIERS including any designations in the Issuance – Details and the Alternate Payee – Summary pages.
- change the address to the resident's new address.
- document in Case Comments the name of the facility and facility AR that are being removed and when.
- deny the former resident's active SNAP EDG. Do not send notice of adverse action since benefits are not actually being denied.
- certify the former resident for SNAP with a certification period for the remaining months using a different case number. (Use a previous, denied-ongoing case number and associate the case number during Application Registration, if the former resident has one.) Do not require a new Form H1010, Texas Works Application for Assistance — Your Texas Benefits. The file date is the first day of the first month of the remaining certification period. Cross reference the other case in the Case Comments section of each case.
- process Form H1172 to give the former resident access to the account(s) by issuing a new card and enabling the individual to select a new PIN through the Lone Star help desk AVR system.
- if necessary, complete a Form H1175, Part I, and send to EBT staff, who will use the information to create the new PCH record through the ATA.
- If the former resident moves to another D&A/GLA facility:
- The facility reports the move and the former resident has not contacted HHSC:
B—448 D&A/GLA Facility Replaces the AR
To replace an AR, the D&A/GLA facility must provide the advisor a written request.
If a D&A/GLA facility replaces the AR, the local office may avoid replacing cards for all the residents' accounts. To do this:
- change the name of the AR on all applicable TIERS cases by replacing the former facility AR with the new individual in the Authorized Representative page and the Alternate Payee Summary page. Document in Case Comments for each TIERS case the change and when the change occurred.
- complete Form H1175, Authorization for Administrative Terminal Application Action, Part III, to update the existing PCH record to reflect the new AR name and biographical information. (Do not create a new PCH record.)
Note: Because the PCH must use biographical data to access PIN selection through the AVR, the EBT clerk must send the PCH record using the Form H1175/ATA process. TIERS does not collect this data on D&A/GLA facility ARs; therefore, TIERS cannot send this information to the EBT system.
At the time of disposition, advisors must ensure that TIERS has successfully included the PCH record for the new facility AR, by reviewing the Issuance – Details page and the Alternate Payee – Summary page.
EBT staff securely file the original, signed Form H1175. The office must ensure the new AR gets a new PIN for each account.
Note: Complete a new Form H1846, Facility Authorized Representative Interview, at the first certification interview following replacement of the AR.
B—449 Verification Requirements
Verify that the GLA meets the eligibility criteria in B-442, Residents of Group Living Arrangement (GLA) Facilities.
B—450 Residents in Shelters for Battered Women
B—451 Eligibility Requirements
Residents in approved shelters for battered women and children may receive SNAP benefits.
Shelters that provide meals are normally considered institutions and residents of those shelters are not eligible for SNAP. However, special procedures apply to residents in shelters for battered women if they live in publicly operated or private nonprofit residential facilities that usually serve meals. If the shelter does not serve meals, it is not classified as an institution and the resident is eligible even if the facility is a profit making business.
Residents in eligible shelters may receive SNAP benefits as individual household units or as part of a group of individuals like any other household. Residents in shelters for battered women may apply for SNAP, and use SNAP benefits on their own behalf. They may also appoint a shelter representative or another person to act as AR and/or secondary cardholder.
Resident households must meet the same income and resource standards as other households. Consider resources held jointly with the person who abused them as inaccessible. Consider room payments to the shelter as shelter expenses. These households have the same rights to notices of adverse action, fair hearing, and lost benefits as other households. Register residents for work unless otherwise exempt.
The usual processing standards for initial and later eligibility decisions, handling reported changes and other actions, and usual verification and documentation requirements apply to residents in shelters for battered women.
B—452 Approved Centers that Provide Meals
Shelters for battered women and children that provide meals must be public or private nonprofit residential facilities that serve battered women and children. If a facility serves other people, part of the facility must be set aside on a long-term basis to serve only battered women and children.
Verify the shelter's status as a nonprofit organization by seeing a current certificate from the Internal Revenue Service or a document from the Texas State Comptroller of Public Accounts. If the shelter is a USDA-certified retailer, the shelter's eligibility is verified.
B—452.1 Buying Meals
Individual households may use their SNAP benefits to buy meals prepared for them at a shelter USDA-certified retailer.
B—453 Authorized Representatives
Employees of facilities that are USDA-certified retailers may not be authorized to serve as AR/secondary cardholders unless HHSC decides that there are no other representatives available.
If the shelter is not a USDA-certified retailer, the household may authorize a shelter representative as secondary cardholder.
B—454 Participation Twice in Same Month
A shelter resident can qualify for a duplicate SNAP benefit in a single month if:
- the resident's former household already received benefits for the month; and
- the resident's former household was based on a household size that included the resident, any children, and the person who abused or threatened to abuse them.
B—454.1 Duplicate Participation Procedures
Report the change in household composition to the office where the former household's case record is located.
Special certification procedures apply to allow duplicate participation until the resident is removed from the former household. The advisor must establish a new SNAP case/food account for the individual whether she is the case name or has a Lone Star Card. The individual must complete a new Form H1010-B, Application for Assistance - Part B: Information We Need to Know.
If the individual has not been removed from the former case and is not eligible for expedited benefits
- complete the certification process,
- set the GWS to manual,
- fax Form H1000-A, Notice of Application, Form H1000-B, Record of Case Action, and Form H1000-C, Secondary Client Input, to SAVERR Data Integrity in state office for processing at 512-706-7140,
- issue the individual a new Lone Star Card and PIN following procedures in B-233, Issuing a Lone Star Card,
- enable the individual to select a PIN through the Lone Star help desk AVR unit following the procedures in B-234, Personal Identification Number (PIN) Selection and Issuance, and
- issue benefits according to procedures in B-252, Benefit Issuance on Applications.
If the individual is eligible for expedited benefits follow procedures above, and write "expedited" at the top of the Form H1000-A, Form H1000-B and Form H1000-C.
B—460 Prepared Meal Services
B—461 Communal Dining or Meal Delivery Services
To be eligible, a household member must be
- 60 years of age or older;
- physically disabled;
- otherwise disabled to the extent that he is unable to adequately prepare all of his meals; or
- receiving SSI.
B—462 Prepared Meals for Homeless
Homeless individuals may use SNAP benefits to purchase prepared meals from meal providers authorized by FNS.
B—463 Advisor Responsibilities
The advisor must:
- issue Form H1803, SNAP Identification Card
- enter the appropriate code as follows:
- C – Communal dining
- M – Meal delivery
- H – Homeless
- E – Every service
When using Form H1175, Authorization for Administrative Terminal Application Action, to send the PCH record, the advisor must indicate in the endorsement box of Form H1175 either:
- Communal dining
- Meal delivery
- Every service
B—464 EBT Coordinator Responsibilities
If a meal-provider representative contacts HHSC about certification procedures, refer him to the EBT coordinator to approve these providers.
The EBT coordinator must ensure through discussion with the meal provider that the establishment:
- provides meals to homeless people, and
- is a public or private nonprofit organization as defined by IRS. HHSC may require the provider to present documentation from IRS to verify nonprofit status under §501(c)(3) of IRS regulations.
If the meal provider meets these requirements, the EBT coordinator will:
- obtain the meal-provider representative's signature on Form H1832, Affidavit for Meal Providers, to the Homeless; and
- refer the provider to USDA, with the original, signed Form H1832 to apply for authorization as a retailer.
B—465 Matrix of Prepared Meals, Services, Households and Codes
|SNAP Recipient||Communal Dining (Public or Nonprofit Private)||Meal Delivery||Homeless Meal Provider (Public or Nonprofit Private)|
|Age 60 or older, not homeless||
|SSI recipient who is under 60, not homeless||
|Under 60, not an SSI recipient, housebound, physically handicapped or otherwise disabled to the extent they are unable to adequately prepare own meals||
|Homeless age 60 or older||
|Homeless SSI recipient who is under 60||
|Endorsement status allowed to purchase from meal provider.||
B—466 Loss of SNAP ID Card (Form H1803)
When replacing a lost or damaged ID card,
- verify the identity of the person requesting the replacement,
- ensure he is authorized to act for the household, and
- issue a new SNAP ID card.
B—470 Categorically Eligible Households
Categorically eligible households are subject to fewer eligibility requirements than other SNAP households. HHSC uses special procedures to process applications from persons who potentially meet the categorical eligibility criteria. Categorical eligibility does not mean the applicants automatically receive SNAP.
B—471 Eligibility Criteria
SNAP households meet categorical eligibility criteria if:
- all members are approved for TANF or SSI;
- all members are approved for TANF cash assistance; or
- the household meets the resource criteria to be authorized to receive TANF Non-cash (TANF-NC) services, and the household's gross income is less than or equal to 165% Federal Poverty Income Limit (FPIL) for its size.
This also includes households that have:
- active cases but whose benefits are suspended or recouped; or
- a disqualified alien member or student who does not get TANF/SSI.
The household is not categorically eligible if:
- one or more members are disqualified from TANF or SNAP for intentional program violation; or
- the entire household is ineligible because the PWE failed to comply with E&T or voluntary quit requirements or if the household is otherwise ineligible due to one or more members' disqualification for any reason.
For TANF-NC, a household is not categorically eligible if one or more members has a current SNAP IPV disqualification. If the household meets the combined resource limit of $5,000 for liquid assets and excess vehicle value, the household is still authorized to receive TANF-NC, and their remaining resources are exempt. The household is not exempt from the gross/net income limits.
B—472 Special Treatment for Households Meeting Categorical Eligibility Criteria
Categorically Eligible TANF/SSI Households
Do not subject categorically eligible households to the resource or gross/net income limits. Exempt these households from verification requirements regarding SSN, resources, residence and sponsored alien information. These households are also exempt from income verification if the income they report is consistent with information previously verified for current SSI or TANF eligibility. These households must comply with all other eligibility criteria.
Categorically Eligible TANF-NC Households
Do not subject TANF-NC categorically eligible households to the gross/net income limits. Once the household passes the resource criteria for TANF-NC, exempt the remaining non-liquid resources. TANF-NC categorically eligible households must comply with all other eligibility criteria.
General Policy, A-1210
Prepaid Burial Insurance, A-1233.2
How to Determine Fair Market Value of Vehicles, A-1238.4
General Policy, A-1310
Special Provisions for Elderly or Disabled Households, B-433
B—473 Application Processing
Follow these procedures when processing a joint application for TANF and/or SSI and the SNAP:
|If the TANF/SSI application is pending and the household ...||then ...|
|is eligible for SNAP without meeting categorical eligibility criteria,||certify the SNAP application as soon as possible. Follow normal SNAP time frames.|
|will not be eligible for SNAP unless the TANF or SSI application is granted,||delay denial of the SNAP case. Pend the SNAP application for up to 30 days awaiting the TANF/SSI decision. If the TANF/SSI application is denied on or before the 30th day, deny the SNAP application immediately.|
|If the TANF/SSI application is ...||then ...|
|granted by the 30th day,||certify for SNAP as soon as possible. Prorate from the SNAP application date.|
|still pending by the 30th day,||
|granted after the 30th day,||
|*When prorating from the effective date of TANF/SSI benefits, use this date as the new SNAP file date. The effective date of benefits for TANF is the earlier of the certification date or 30 days after the file date. The effective date of benefits for SSI applicants is the:
Verify the SSI benefit effective date by viewing the award letter or by submitting Form H1610, Application for Participation and Policy Statement.
B—474 Form H1000-A, Form H1000-B, Form H1000-C Entry
Identify households that meet categorical eligibility criteria using the following codes in Item 85, Test, on Form H1000-A, Notice of Application, Form H1000-B, Record of Case Action, and Form H1000-C, Secondary Client Input:
C – Categorically eligible household with capped shelter deductions.
T – Categorically eligible household with uncapped shelter deductions. Note: Also use in situations where a household member, disqualified for any reason, is the only elderly or disabled member.
B—475 Centralized Benefit Services Section
SNAP and Medical Programs
CBS is a centralized section that processes certain types of cases statewide.
Specialized and Centralized Casework Units, C-1471
B—475.1 Programs Administered by CBS
SNAP and Medical Programs
CBS administers SNAP and Medical Programs for several individual groups. For information concerning the SNAP Combined Application Project (SNAP-CAP), which is one of the programs that CBS administers, see B-476, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Combined Application Project (SNAP-CAP).
B—475.1.1 SNAP Programs
CBS administers SNAP for:
- pure categorically eligible SSI households:
- either through the SNAP-SSI caseload; or
- as part of SNAP-CAP; and
- refugees who receive Refugee Medical Assistance.
B—4220.127.116.11 SNAP-SSI Caseload
For the SNAP-SSI caseload, Texas is operating under a waiver that allows the state to process both timely and untimely recertifications without an interview.
CBS staff may complete a recertification for SNAP-SSI cases without an interview except in the following situations:
- the household requests an interview,
- the case contains earned income, or
- it appears the household is going to be denied.
Advisors cannot deny recertification households for a missed appointment, except for a case with earned income. For the other two situations, staff must schedule an appointment and attempt to conduct an interview but continue to process the recertification application if the household misses the appointment. If ineligible, the case must be denied for the appropriate reason rather than a missed appointment.
If the household submits a recertification application by the last day of the last benefit month, no interview is required. If the file date falls after the last day of the last benefit month, an interview is required. These households may be denied for a missed appointment.
For untimely submitted recertification applications, use initial application processing time frames, as stated in B-124, Processing Untimely Recertifications.
B—418.104.22.168 Pending SNAP-SSI Recertifications for Missing Information/Verification
If more information is needed from the household to complete the recertification, the advisor must attempt to contact the household immediately by telephone to obtain the information. If unable to reach the household by telephone, the advisor must mail Form H1830, Application/Review/Expiration/Appointment Notice, to schedule an interview, along with Form H1020, Request for Information or Action, clearly explaining the information/verification that is required.
Combining the pending information notice and the appointment notice in one envelope will help staff complete the recertification timely, rather than waiting to schedule the appointment later if the household fails to provide requested information. Mail Form H1830 the same day the case is identified as one that must be scheduled with an interview, or no later than the next workday.
Households must be allowed the usual 10 days to provide the missing information/verification.
If the household member misses the scheduled appointment, a missed appointment notice is not required. Continue to attempt to process the case without an interview.
B—422.214.171.124 SNAP-SSI Recertifications – Inconsistent or Discrepant Information
While processing these recertifications, advisors may notice inconsistent or discrepant information (including management problems). If this should happen, advisors must contact the household (and pend the case if necessary) to resolve the inconsistency.
For the SNAP-SSI population, advisors should pay careful attention to shelter costs since this area historically is the most prone to quality control errors. Establish the actual costs the individual pays, review the current application's reported expenses compared to the previous entries, and resolve any inconsistencies or case clues.
B—4126.96.36.199 SNAP-SSI Recertification Denials
With the exception of cases with earned income, the policy on scheduling an interview before denying a household's request to recertify SNAP benefits is a federal condition of HHSC's waiver approval. It is intended to ensure the household has an opportunity to explore continued eligibility before being denied. Additionally, advisors must review facts about the case, the household's income and review all possible deductions for which the household may be eligible, especially ones that are not as commonly claimed, such as medical transportation costs or adult dependent care costs.
If the advisor determines the household appears ineligible while processing the SNAP-SSI recertification, the advisor must attempt to conduct an interview before the case can be denied. The advisor must attempt to immediately telephone the household to conduct the interview. If the advisor is unable to contact the household by telephone, staff must mail Form H1830 to schedule an interview. Mail Form H1830 the same day the case is identified as one that must be scheduled with an interview or no later than the next workday. Continue to attempt to process the recertification, and deny if ineligible using normal processing time frames.
B—475.1.2 Medical Programs
CBS administers the following medical programs:
- TP 70 – Medicaid for Transitioning Foster Care Youth (MTFCY). The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) administers the foster care program. Youths who age out of foster care or the unaccompanied refugee minor program may receive Medicaid from age 18 through the month of their 21st birthday if they meet all of the eligibility criteria. The youth must:
- be age 18 through 21;
- have been in any state's conservatorship or the unaccompanied refugee minor program on their 18th birthday;
- meet Medical Programs citizenship and SSN requirements;
- be a Texas resident;
- not have adequate health coverage as defined by HHSC;
- have countable resources of less than or equal to $10,000; and
- have countable income of less than or equal to 400% FPIL.
Note: The youth is the only person in the certified group. CBS maintains the TP 70 caseload and processes an annual periodic review.
Exceptions: Exclude any financial benefit used for the purpose of housing and any grants or subsidies obtained as a result of foster care payments from income and resources.
- a new MTFCY case/Eligibility Determination Group (EDG) via an interface with DFPS; or
- an application completed by a youth aging out of foster care.
Note: DFPS provides a notice of eligibility to each individual.
If a DFPS referral/interface is not completed/processed, individuals must apply by completing application Form H1011, Application for Medicaid for Youth Transitioning from Foster Care an Approved Unaccompanied Refugee Minor's Resettlement Program.
Before certifying the youth for another type of medical assistance or TANF in the local office, advisors must contact CBS at 2-1-1 and ask to speak to someone concerning youths aging out of foster care or the unaccompanied refugee minors program.
See Part M, Medicaid for Transitioning Foster Care Youth (MTFCY), for complete MTFCY policy.
- Former Foster Care in Higher Education (FFCHE) is a program that provides health care benefits to individuals who were in foster care or the unaccompanied refugee minor program on their 18th birthday. HHSC will use state funds to pay for the FFCHE program. Since this program is funded entirely by the state, it is not considered Medicaid and is identified as health care benefits instead of Medicaid or medical assistance.
In order to be eligible for FFCHE benefits, individuals must:
- be age 21 plus one month and younger than age 23;
- have been in foster care or the unaccompanied refugee minors program on their 18th birthday;
- be enrolled in an institution of higher education located in Texas;
- not have adequate health coverage as defined by HHSC;
- have countable income of less than or equal to 400% FPIL;
- have countable resources of less than or equal to $10,000; and
- meet all other Medical Programs' eligibility criteria such as citizenship/alien status.
Note: The youth is the only person in the certified group. CBS maintains the FFCHE caseload.
Before certifying the youth for another type of medical assistance or TANF in the local office, advisors must contact CBS at 2-1-1 and ask to speak to someone concerning youths aging out of foster care or the unaccompanied refugee minors program.
See Part F, Former Foster Care in Higher Education (FFCHE), for complete FFCHE policy.
- TP 44 – Medicaid coverage to eligible youths in the custody of or released from the Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD).
Children placed outside the home by the juvenile court in a non-secure facility with 16 or fewer beds are considered independent children and are potentially eligible for Medicaid.
Note: Children placed in a public non-secure facility with over 16 beds are not eligible for Medicaid.
To determine the correct medical effective date (MED) for children in a non-secure facility, follow the chart below.
If the child is ... then... not active on Medicaid/CHIP and the file date is within the same month as the placement date of the child, the MED is the placement date of the child. not active on Medicaid/CHIP and the file date is not within the same month as the placement date of the child (that is, the application is filed the month after the placement date), the MED is the first day of the application month. Note: For unpaid medical bills prior to the file date, follow policy in A-831.1, How to Apply for Three Months Prior Coverage. active on CHIP, test for Medicaid eligibility following procedures in A-126.3, Advisor Action for Determining Eligibility for Children. Exception: If the child is receiving SSI or Foster Care Title IV-E, deny the application.
Children placed in a secure facility are considered institutionalized and not eligible for Medicaid. See A-241.3.1, Children’s Living Arrangements, to determine if the child is living in a secure facility. If a child is reported to be in a secure facility, staff must remove or deny benefits. No advance notice of adverse action is required.
Children placed in a secure facility are only potentially eligible for Medicaid after they are released. HHSC contracts with TJJD in order to assess detained children for Medicaid eligibility before they are released from a secure facility.
- TJJD sends weekly referrals to CBS of children who have release dates scheduled within 30 days.
- Within seven days of receipt of the referrals, CBS determines whether the child can be added to an existing TIERS Medicaid household or whether the household must submit an application. If the household must submit an application, CBS mails Form H1014, Application Information for Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), Children's Medicaid and CHIP Perinatal Coverage, to the household along with instructions to return the completed application to CBS.
- Within two business days after TJJD confirms the child’s date of release, CBS either completes a change action to add the child to an existing Medicaid household or processes and disposes any pending applications.
- CBS accepts applications up to and including the 14th calendar day after the confirmed date of release. Any applications received after the 14th day are routed appropriately for processing.
- CBS reports the outcome of the referral to TJJD.
If the child is eligible for Medicaid, the MED cannot be any earlier than the discharge date.
Adverse Actions not Requiring Advance Notice, A-2354
- TA 66 – Medicaid for Breast and Cervical Cancer (MBCC)-Presumptive and TA 67 – MBCC provides full Medicaid coverage for women who need treatment for breast or cervical cancer, including precancerous conditions. To be eligible, a woman’s diagnosis must be reviewed by Texas Department of State Health Services Breast and Cervical Cancer Services (BCCS). To be eligible, women must also meet all eligibility criteria. Women must:
- be under age 65;
- be a Texas resident;
- meet Medical Programs citizenship and identity requirements;
- not be eligible for another type of medical assistance; and
- not have other health insurance.
A specialized unit at CBS determines eligibility for these program. Once determined eligible, a woman remains eligible for Medicaid through the duration of the cancer treatment or until she no longer meets the eligibility criteria, whichever is earlier. Only CBS staff can dispose an MBCC-Presumptive or MBCC Eligibility Determination Group (EDG). When non-CBS staff dispose a case containing an MBCC-Presumptive or MBCC EDG and the EDG does not auto-sustain, a task will be generated for CBS staff to dispose the MBCC-Presumptive or MBCC EDG.
See Part X, Medicaid for Breast and Cervical Cancer (MBCC), for complete MBCC-Presumptive and MBCC policy.
- Refugee Medical Assistance (RMA) provides medical assistance to refugees who have lived in the United States for eight months or less from the date of entry. Individuals must first be determined ineligible for Medicaid or CHIP before eligibility can be determined for RMA. RMA cases can be identified as TIERS cases – TP02-MA Refugee.
B—475.2 Conversion of Cases
Cases are converted to CBS when all members meet all SNAP eligibility requirements that pertain to categorically eligible households, receive SSI and no individual is disqualified for:
- able-bodied adults without dependents (ABAWD) time limits,
- fleeing as a felon,
- an intentional program violation,
- refusal to cooperate with a Quality Control review,
- E&T noncooperation,
- SSN noncooperation,
- student status, or
- felony drug conviction.
Note: Additionally, in order to be eligible for conversion to the SNAP-SSI caseload, no individual can reside in a group living arrangement, drug/alcohol treatment center or boarding house, or have earned income, including self-employment income.
After the local office completes an initial certification, an automated process transfers cases that meet the criteria to CBS. The automated process occurs monthly at cutoff. The individual is mailed a notice to inform the individual:
- that the case is transferred, and
- to report household changes by telephone or mail.
The notice includes the toll-free number and CBS address. Field staff should continue to accept changes and complete case actions until the case transfers to CBS.
An RC-26 Report, Food Stamp Cases Converted to Automated Benefit Project, lists cases transferred to CBS. Cases identified on SAVERR with a special regional BJN and a mail code of 954-X can only be worked by CBS. To transfer a case to CBS, local office staff should request to transfer material to the HHSC Records Center.
B—475.3 Methods of Reporting Changes
SNAP and Medical Programs
Individuals may report changes by telephone or mail. Local office staff may call or forward CBS changes using the local Austin telephone number or the change verification system (CVS).
B—475.4 Office Information
SNAP and Medical Programs
|Office Hours:||Monday through Friday|
|8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.|
|Mailing Address:||P.O. Box 149030 (018-5)
Austin, Texas 78714-9030
|Interagency Mail:||Mail Code 018-5|
|CBS:||Mail Code 954-X|
B—475.5 Replacement of Lone Star Cards/PINs/Medical Care Identification
See procedures in B-243, CBS Cases, for CBS individuals who request card or PIN replacements.
Replacement or temporary medical care identification cards (Form H1027-A, Medicaid Eligibility Verification, Form H1027-B, Medicaid Eligibility Verification - MQMB, Form H1027-C, Medicaid Eligibility Verification - QMB) must be issued by local eligibility determination offices.
B—475.6 Case Transfers
The CBS section:
- transfers cases back to the local office if the household no longer meets the criteria to be a CBS case (earnings, loss of SSI or household composition changes) or because regional staff request the transfer under special circumstances;
- shortens the certification period as specified in B-475.6.1, Special Procedures for Shortening Certification Periods for CBS Cases;
- attaches a cover memo to the cases explaining the reason for return;
- changes the budgeted job number, mail code, and Item 89 of Form H1000-A, Notice of Application, Form H1000-B, Record of Case Action, and Form H1000-C, Secondary Client Input.
The CBS section also returns untimely reapplication cases received in the month after the last benefit month to the local office with a cover memo and explanation of the reason for return.
Children's Medicaid – CBS transfers completed Medicaid determinations, both active and denied, to the appropriate region and local office.
B—475.6.1 Special Procedures for Shortening Certification Periods for CBS Cases
If the household reports a change that results in the household being transferred out of CBS, such as the loss of SSI benefits, an addition to the household, or moving into a GLA, then CBS staff transfer the case back to the appropriate local office.
Before transferring the case back to the local office, CBS must take appropriate action based on the following criteria:
|If the household's certification period is in ...||then ...|
|month 1-11,||if benefits:
Shorten the certification period to a 12-month total by processing an incomplete review and submitting a manual Form H1000-B, Record of Case Action, with the new benefit amount and change the last benefit month to month 12.
|month 12-36,||if benefits:
Shorten the certification period to end on the last day of the month after the month Form H1017 was sent.
Note: CBS staff also must include Form H1830, Application/Review/Expiration/Appointment Notice and Form H1010-B, Application for Assistance - Part B: Information We Need to Know, advising the individual to file future applications at the local office.
B—475.7 Denied Cases
The local office must check the Electronic Case Files (ECF) on denied cases to ensure that the CBS section is not in the process of certifying the case. If no more than one calendar month passed since the last benefit month, request CBS to transfer the case to the local office. If the case is denied more than one calendar month after the last benefit month, the local office can change the BJN, mail code, and Item 89 of Form H1000-B, Record of Case Action, at the time of the certification.
Note: Accept Form H1840, SNAP Food Benefits Renewal Form, if received at the local office and the CBS SNAP case certification period has expired.
The local office must coordinate with CBS to determine the effective date of certification when a youth certified for TP 09, base plan 35 (youths transitioning out of foster care), TP 44 (Texas Juvenile Justice Department), or an adult certified for TP 55 (breast and cervical cancer) applies for Medicaid in the local office.
B—475.8 Opportunity to Register to Vote
Mail Form H0025, Voter Registration Application, to households who do not have a face-to-face interview.
If the individual contacts the local office to decline the opportunity to register to vote after receipt of Form H0025, mail Form H1350, Opportunity to Register to Vote, to the individual for a signature. File Form H1350 in the case record when the individual returns the form, and retain the form for 22 months.
Registering to Vote, A-1521
B—476 Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Combined Application Project (SNAP-CAP)
SNAP-CAP is a six-year demonstration project to outreach elderly SSI recipients not currently certified for SNAP. Single SNAP-CAP households are certified for either a $65 or $81 standard SNAP-CAP allotment based on their reported monthly shelter expense.
If the household reports the monthly shelter expense is less than $289 per month, the monthly SNAP-CAP allotment is $65. If the household reports the monthly shelter expense is more than or equal to $289 per month, the monthly SNAP-CAP allotment is $81.
To be eligible for SNAP-CAP, an individual must:
- be an SSI recipient;
- be age 50 or older;
- reside in Texas;
- not reside in an institution that causes ineligibility; and
- not receive regular SNAP benefits.
Additionally, an individual is not eligible to participate in SNAP-CAP if the person:
- is a fleeing felon;
- is disqualified for an intentional program violation; or
- has a felony drug conviction for an offense that occurred after Aug. 22, 1996.
No other regular SNAP eligibility criteria apply to SNAP-CAP. Note: Individuals may switch from SNAP to SNAP-CAP as described in B-476.2.1, Switching from the Regular SNAP Program to SNAP-CAP.
B—476.2 Application Processing
State office identifies potential SNAP-CAP recipients via the Texas State Data Exchange (SDX) match process. State office automatically mails a form to individuals potentially eligible for SNAP-CAP. For individuals who previously received SNAP benefits in Texas, the mail out occurs two months after the last month individuals last received benefits in Texas. CBS certifies the SNAP-CAP case for 36 months, provides notice of eligibility and authorizes an EBT account without a face-to-face or telephone interview.
If an individual receives a SNAP-CAP application and also applies for SNAP at the local office, coordinate the application process with CBS staff before making an eligibility decision in the local office to ensure that the individual can make an informed choice about which program the individual prefers. The individual may voluntarily withdraw his other application.
If the spouse of an active SNAP-CAP participant submits an application at the local office, certify him separately from the active SNAP-CAP participant. If the spouse appears potentially eligible for SNAP-CAP, explain the program and requirements outlined in B-476, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Combined Application Project (SNAP-CAP). If the individual wants to participate in the program, he may voluntarily withdraw his SNAP application. Refer the individual to CBS at 2-1-1. Document that the individual was informed of the program, but that the individual withdrew his application.
A SNAP-CAP application returned to a local eligibility determination office must be faxed to CBS at 512-908-8200 the same day it is received.
Expedited processing and benefit proration do not apply to the SNAP-CAP program. A standard allotment is issued for the month the application is returned.
B—476.2.1 Switching from the Regular SNAP Program to SNAP-CAP
If an SSI recipient receiving regular SNAP benefits wants to switch to SNAP-CAP, the individual must contact CBS staff and request to withdraw from the regular program and apply for SNAP-CAP.
Within 10 days of receipt of the request and determination that the individual meets SNAP-CAP eligibility requirements, CBS staff:
- send the individual a notice of denial for the regular SNAP, using adequate notice procedures;
- terminate the person's participation in the regular SNAP as soon as possible (that is, the end of the month the individual made the request if the 10th day falls before the monthly computer cutoff, and no later than the end of the next month); and
- send the individual a SNAP-CAP application if the individual has not already filed one with CBS.
If HHSC fails to take action within 10 days to authorize denial of the regular SNAP case for the applicable month, HHSC restores any lost benefits as a result of untimely agency action.
HHSC does not provide a SNAP-CAP application to anyone who does not meet the SNAP-CAP eligibility criteria. CBS also certifies eligible individuals for SNAP-CAP if the individuals submit applications they obtained on their own. CBS will coordinate termination of the individual's participation in the regular SNAP, if not already terminated. To avoid duplication of SNAP benefits when an eligible individual requests to switch from the regular SNAP to SNAP-CAP, CBS staff use a file date equal to the first day of the first month the individual qualifies for SNAP-CAP, if that date is later than the date the application form is actually received. CBS staff must document the reason for the modified file date on the application form.
Note: CBS staff may also cancel a month's regular SNAP issuance in order to expedite the recipient's switch to SNAP-CAP, if it is not too late to cancel that issuance. Refer to B-331, Cancelling Benefits in EBT Accounts.
B—476.3 Household Composition
A SNAP-CAP food unit consists of one person. Married individuals who are both receiving SSI are considered separate households and certified on individual SNAP-CAP cases. (See A-231, Who is Included.)
A SNAP-CAP participant who resides in a household in which other members receive SNAP through the regular SNAP program is considered a separate household, regardless of how they purchase and prepare their meals. (See A-232.1, Nonmembers.)
Do not include a SNAP-CAP participant when determining regular SNAP eligibility for other household members. Follow policy in A-1326.1.1, Contributions from Noncertified Household Members.
A minor child residing with a SNAP-CAP participant may be certified as SNAP head of household. The SNAP-CAP participant must be listed as the AR on the minor child's case. (See A-231)
SSI eligibility is verified weekly via the SNAP-CAP participant's SDX record.
B—476.5 Shelter and Utility Expenses
Follow policy in A-1429, Shelter Costs, for separate households sharing shelter expenses, including SUA/BUA, if applicable.
SNAP-CAP participants are not required to report changes. CBS processes shelter and address changes reported by SNAP-CAP participants.
CBS will mail Form H0025, Voter Registration Application, to the individual when the individual reports a change of address. If the individual contacts CBS to decline the opportunity to register to vote after receipt of Form H0025, CBS will mail Form H1350, Opportunity to Register to Vote, to the individual for a signature. File Form H1350 in the case record when the individual returns the form, and retain the form for at least 22 months.
State office uses SDX records to automatically update individual information on a weekly basis. The weekly SDX update results in a SNAP-CAP case denial if the individual no longer receives SSI, dies or moves to a nursing home.
Registering to Vote, A-1521
B—476.7 Issuing Benefits
CBS authorizes a SNAP-CAP participant's EBT account. Replacement EBT cards may be obtained from local eligibility determination offices if the local office replacement criteria are met. Follow policy in B-235.1, Lone Star Card Replacement Services, to determine if the SNAP-CAP participant can get a replacement card locally or if they must obtain it from the Lone Star Help desk.
Follow policy in B-362, Advisor Action on Dormant Accounts, when a SNAP-CAP case is dormant.
B—476.9 Fair Hearings
Follow policy in B-1000, Fair Hearings.
File an overpayment referral when a household receives benefits it is not entitled to receive. This may occur based on agency error, individual error/misunderstanding, or through fraud or intentional program violation. OIG receives the overpayment referral and establishes a claim if the referral is valid.
SNAP-CAP households are subject to overpayment referrals and claims. Households may repay benefits through recoupment or through restitution. Recoupment is a method of recovering an overpayment claim by withholding a portion of the household's benefits. Restitution is a method of recovering an overpayment claim by the receipt of payments from the household paid to HHSC.
For additional information, follow policy in B-700, Claims.
State office automatically mails Form H1842, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Combined Application Project (SNAP-CAP) Recertification Notice, two months before the last benefit month. To reapply in a timely manner, the individual must submit the completed Form H1842 by the 15th day of the last benefit month.
CBS staff must process timely recertifications by the last workday of the certification period. CBS staff certify the SNAP-CAP case for 36 months and provides a notice of eligibility without a face-to-face or telephone interview. Ensure the individual's normal issuance cycle is not interrupted.
If CBS receives Form H1842 after the 15th day of the last benefit month, certify or deny the application by the 30th day after the file date. Expedited processing and benefit pro-ration do not apply to SNAP-CAP.
A Form H1842 returned to a local eligibility determination office must be faxed to CBS the same day it is received. The CBS fax number is 512-908-8200.
B—476.11.1 Opting Out of SNAP-CAP
Individuals currently receiving SNAP-CAP may choose to apply for the traditional SNAP because they may be eligible for a higher allotment. If a individual returns Form H1010-A, Application for Assistance: Part A – Information You Need to Know or Form H1010-B, Application for Assistance: Part B – Information We Need to Know, and chooses to opt out of SNAP-CAP, the local office will need to:
- contact the applicant to confirm he wants to apply for benefits under the regular SNAP;
- schedule an appointment for an interview;
- file the application in the SAVERR/TIERS using a different SNAP case number than the SNAP-CAP case number;
- determine if the individual would receive a higher allotment under the regular SNAP;
- notify the individual of the allotment amount under the regular SNAP and confirm if he wishes to withdraw from SNAP-CAP;
- contact CBS to notify CBS to deny the SNAP-CAP case if the individual wishes to withdraw from SNAP-CAP;
- confirm the SNAP-CAP case has been denied; and
- certify the individual for the regular SNAP effective the first month he qualifies for benefits without duplicating benefits.
B—477 Joint SSI-SNAP Applications
B—477.1 Applications Filed in the Social Security Office
Households whose members are all applying for or receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) may apply for SNAP at the Social Security Administration (SSA) office unless they already have a SNAP application pending. These individuals are not required to come to the SNAP office to complete the application or reapplication process. If the advisor needs more information from the household, contact the household by home visit, telephone or mail.
- accepts and completes the SNAP application during the SSI interview; and
- forwards the following items to the SNAP office within one workday after receiving the application:
- the application;
- Form SSA-4233, Social Security Administration Transmittal for Food Stamp Applications; and
- any verification SSA has received.
The file date for the application is the date SSA receives the application. SSA notes this date on Form SSA-4233. When SSA receives additional verification after forwarding the application to the SNAP office, SSA sends the additional verification with Form SSA-4233.
B—477.1.1 Expedited Service
Advisors determine expedited services eligibility for SSI households the same as other households, except expedited time limits begin with the date the correct SNAP office receives the application.
- screen the application for expedited services on the day they receive it,
- mark Expedited Processing on the first page of the application if the household appears to be eligible, and
- forward the application within one workday.
The individual may also take the application to the SNAP office.
B—477.1.2 Work Registration
Exempt SSI household members who apply for SSI and SNAP at the Social Security office from work registration until SSA determines their eligibility for SSI. Use Code E in Item 41 on Form H1000-A, Notice of Application, Form H1000-B, Record of Case Action, and Form H1000-C, Secondary Client Input.
B—477.1.3 Special Review
For households applying at SSA, process a special review during the third month of the certification period to determine if the individual received a decision on his SSI claim.
B—477.1.4 Notice of Expiration
Provide a notice of expiration to the SSI household:
- no earlier than the month before the last month of the certification period, and
- no later than the first day of the last month of the certification period.
The notice of expiration informs the individual if he is eligible for a home visit or telephone interview for recertification.
B—477.1.5 Reporting Changes
These households are subject to the same change reporting requirements as other SNAP households.
The advisor receives information on whether the SSI was granted or denied on RG11-03, Client File Referral Report. Take action on information from this or any other source.
Households in which all members are applying for or receiving SSI may file a reapplication for SNAP at the SSA.
The SSA office sends:
- the application,
- transmittal sheet (Form SSA-4233), and
- any available verification to the correct SNAP office.
B—477.2 Applications Filed in Public Institutions
A resident of a public institution may jointly apply for SSI and SNAP while in the institution. SSA forwards the application to the Centralized Benefit Services (CBS) section. The SNAP file date is the date of release from the institution.
- enters a notice of application, and
- pends the application until SSA notifies HHSC that the applicant is released.
If the applicant is:
- not released, CBS denies the application;
- released, CBS determines eligibility for expedited services.
|If the applicant is ...||then CBS ...|
|eligible for expedited services,*||
|not eligible for expedited services,||
|*Provide benefits to the individual so he has an opportunity to participate by the fifth calendar day after the date the applicant is released from the institution. The application date is day zero.
**When transferring the case, CBS notifies field staff about needed actions.
Certification Period/Special Review — Field staff must process a special review during the third month of the certification period to determine if the individual is now receiving SSI.
B—480 A Household with Members on TANF/TANF-SP and Medical Assistance Only
In some TANF/TANF-State Program (TANF-SP) cases that include an other-related child, advisors must sometimes separate the household members even though they continue to live together.
- deny assistance or transfer it to Medical Assistance Only (MAO) (TPs 07, 20, 37, and the Medical Programs for Families and Children) for some members; and
- continue assistance for other members.
B—481 Advisor Action on Cases that Include an Other-Related Child
B—481.1 At Initial Certification
When a TANF/TANF-SP case includes an other-related child,
- explain to the household that the other-related child, if eligible by himself, can continue receiving TANF even if the TANF for the other members of the household is denied. Denials include, but are not limited to, those because of
- earnings, or
- child support.
- advise households that have an other-related child included in the grant to contact HHSC immediately if they receive a notice in the mail stating that they will receive Medicaid, but their TANF/TANF-SP will be denied because they are no longer eligible for the 90% earned income deduction (automated transfer to TP 37).
- set a special review to contact the household and continue TANF for an eligible other-related child when the case is expected to be denied because the 90% earned income deduction will be removed and the case will transfer to TP 37.
B—481.2 Before a TANF/TANF-SP Case is Denied
Determine if an other-related child is eligible for TANF on a separate case before the household's TANF is denied or the case is transferred to Medical Assistance Only. Contact the household to ensure that it wants the child's TANF to continue. Note: See B-483.1 regarding special reviews for TANF/TANF-SP cases before the cases transfer to TP 37.
Provide TANF to the other-related child without a break in benefits, if he is eligible by himself, and the household
- wants his TANF to continue, or
- cannot be contacted.
If more than one other-related child is in the household, certify on separate cases other-related children who are not siblings. Exception: The individual may choose to combine cases if one case is ineligible separately but would be eligible if the members were combined.
Keep the other-related child in the original household group if the
- child is not eligible by himself, or if the
- household does not want him to receive TANF.
B—482 Separating and Recombining Households
B—482.1 How to Separate Household Members
Use the original TANF case to continue the other-related child's TANF, if the household members being denied are not eligible for MAO. Ensure that the case has a payee, or a caretaker if a household member qualifies as caretaker, and delete other denied members from Form H1000-A, Notice of Application, Form H1000-B, Record of Case Action, and Form H1000-C, Secondary Client Input.
Follow the procedures below when some members of the certified group are transferred to MAO and a new TANF case is needed for the other members who remain eligible for TANF.
- SAVERR will allow an adult as the only member on a case that transfers to TP 07 or TP 37.
- These procedures ensure that TANF-SP case numbers follow the SP members.
|If the case has ...||then ...|
|1||not been transferred to MAO,||
If the case is on hold code 5 or 6, also
|been transferred to MAO,||submit Form H1000-A, Form H1000-B and Form H1000-C to delete the member(s) who will be certified on a new TANF case.|
|2||Process an NOA for a new TANF case for the member(s) deleted.
|3||Document in both cases that the original certified group is connected and that the group may need to be recombined if the MAO members become eligible for TANF/TANF-SP.|
|4||After Form H1000-B in Step 1 has processed, submit Form H1000-A for the new TANF case.
B—482.2 How to Recombine Household Members
Follow the procedures below to transfer an MAO case back to TANF when recombining group members.
|1||Send Form H1000-A, Notice of Application, Form H1000-B, Record of Case Action, and Form H1000-C, Secondary Client Input, to deny the active TANF case.|
|2||When the TANF/TANF-SP denial in Step 1 has processed,
|3||Process a manual Form H1000-A, Form H1000-B or Form H1000-C if the initial month's grant must be prorated because the GWS does not accurately prorate the grant when you transfer a case from a medical program to TP 01 or TP 61 and part of the household already received TANF for the month.
Ensure that the following entries are made in Section XI:
B—490 Determining Whether an Individual who Receives Residential Assistance is Institutionalized
People who reside together and receive residential services from non-profit organizations or for-profit providers who contract with MHMR or HHSC-Long Term Care to provide residential services may participate in SNAP only if the applicant is not considered institutionalized.
Provider staff may:
- manage a resident's personal funds at the request of the resident, or
- be the payee on the resident's SSI benefit check.
If the resident requests the provider staff to manage his personal account, the staff must maintain a financial account for the resident and a separate detailed record of all deposits and expenditures for each individual.
Provider staff may not commingle the resident's personal funds with the provider's funds.
For individuals receiving these services, staff must determine if an applicant is considered institutionalized and eligible for SNAP using the following criteria:
|Answer the following question.||Yes||No|
||The person is considered "institutionalized" for purposes of SNAP eligibility since the contractor is providing a majority of meals (that is, 50% or more) for the resident. The applicant can only qualify if he meets the requirements for a resident of a GLA in B-442, Residents of Group Living Arrangement (GLA) Facilities.*||The resident is not considered institutionalized. Go to Step 2.|
||He can apply as a one-person household following regular policy.||Residents who purchase or prepare their food together must be included together on the SNAP application. HHSC determines eligibility for all those purchasing or preparing together following regular policy. Example: The provider may use each resident's personal funds to purchase groceries and then prepare meals for all residents together.|
*There are also other policies in B-400, Special Households, under which an individual who is considered institutionalized may qualify, such as those residing in homeless shelters and shelters for battered women, etc.
Verify and document the answers to the two questions in the chart. If the resident designates provider staff as the AR and the AR states the attendant purchases meals/food using the resident's funds, the AR must provide a copy of the detailed record of deposits and expenditures for those residents and the resident's financial account.
B—491 Documentation Requirements
For households receiving residential assistance, document responses to the questions in B-490, Determining Whether an Individual who Receives Residential Assistance is Institutionalized.